Electric vehicles are being powered forward by a new parliament group

More than 30 Federal MPs from across the political spectrum and all over Australia recently formed the first ever Parliamentary Friends of Electric Vehicles and Future Fuels Transport group.
Climate Change and Energy Minister Chris Bowen formally launched the group outside Parliament House in Canberra amongst a range of new model EVs, including an electric VW ID Buzz (more affectionately known as a ‘Kombi Van’) which had not been shown publicly in Australia until the launch.
The Group will be Co-Chaired by Michelle Ananda-Rajah (Member for Higgins, Victoria) and Monique Ryan (Member for Kooyong, Victoria) and plans to hold several events during this term of Parliament to help ensure Australia’s EV momentum powers ahead.
“The adoption of electric vehicles in Australia will be a step change in transport that will liberate motorists from the irritations of the nozzle with the added bonus of lower running costs and cleaner air, free from particulates and carcinogens that come from Australian cars burning some of the dirtiest fuel in the world,” Dr Ananda-Rajah said.
“We need to work together to usher in the cleaner, greener economy, and investing in electric vehicles is a central part of that. I’m thrilled to launch this group and bring more than 30 MPs into the fold as we look to move Australia into the fast lane on electric vehicles,” Ms Ryan added. 
The Electric Vehicle Council said it welcomes the launch of the Group and will work with MPs involved to develop, support and advocate for policies that make EVs more affordable and accessible.

For more from the Electric Vehicle Council, visit